V5.5.7 requirements?

Running Ubuntu 20.04 virtual machine self hosted
PHP 7.4.3
NGINX
I tried to upgrade from 5.4.8 to 5.5.7 from the update window on my invoiceninja site and it failed as it always does. So I downloaded the latest version, extracted then started getting all kinds of errors about php, said I needed 8.1? So I tried to upgrade to PHP8.1 and thats when things went sideways.

I am a handyman by trade and use this for my clients but I do not know enough about PHP to fix it when things get broke. My solution is take snapshot of the VM and when things break, restore snap shot and start over.
I never had these issues with v4 and ran a script I found on the web that ran once a month and updated the program without issue.

So question is, do I NEED PHP8.1 or can I still use 7.4.3?
Also, will the update feature ever work just by clicking the update button or will there always be extra hoops to jump through?

Thanks

Hi,

v5.5 requires PHP 8.1, there are more details in the release notes:

The update button should usually work however as is the case here PHP upgrades need to be handled separately.

AHH! I was just looking at v5.5.7 and seen the all informative release notes of “General improvements and bug fixes.”
Thanks

OK, updated to PHP8.1 successfully I think.
php -v
PHP 8.1.8 (cli) (built: Jul 11 2022 08:29:57) (NTS)
Copyright (c) The PHP Group
Zend Engine v4.1.8, Copyright (c) Zend Technologies
with Zend OPcache v8.1.8, Copyright (c), by Zend Technologies

However
systemctl status php8.1-fpm
● php8.1-fpm.service - The PHP 8.1 FastCGI Process Manager
Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/php8.1-fpm.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
Active: active (running) since Sat 2022-08-06 20:10:49 UTC; 6s ago
Docs: man:php-fpm8.1(8)
Process: 62601 ExecStartPost=/usr/lib/php/php-fpm-socket-helper install /run/php/php-fpm.sock /etc/php/8.1/fpm/poo>
Main PID: 62586 (php-fpm8.1)
Tasks: 3 (limit: 5209)
Memory: 9.8M
CGroup: /system.slice/php8.1-fpm.service