Unable to secure site with SSL with pound reverse proxy server

Hi everyone!

After spending almost the entirety of yesterday searching and experimenting with different methods, I am hoping you experts might be able to help me out on this. As some background, I am a tech literate guy, but not to a great extent.

I have Invoice Ninja running in a Bitnami VM behind a Pound reverse proxy server. When I have this set up and go to any page, my browser (Chrome) states that the website is attempting to run scripts from unauthenticated sources. I have the pound server redirecting all HTTP traffic to the HTTPS address. When I enable the option in the .env file to require HTTPS, I get an error about a redirect loop. When I set this to false, I get the page with almost no styling stating that I am trying to run scripts from unauthenticated sources.

Some of the things that I tried doing was setting the .env file’s address to use HTTPS, I’ve tried to add the SESSION_ENCRYPT=true and SESSION_SECURE=true lines to the .env file without success.

If there are any suggestions you can provide, I would be immensely appreciative. This is an amazing project and I hope that I can get this working for production.

Thank you very much!

Chris

Try setting a value for TRUSTED_PROXIES in your .env file.

Here’s the code from the top of app/Http/Middleware/StartupCheck.php

// Set up trusted X-Forwarded-Proto proxies
    // TRUSTED_PROXIES accepts a comma delimited list of subnets
    // ie, TRUSTED_PROXIES='10.0.0.0/8,172.16.0.0/12,192.168.0.0/16'
    if (isset($_ENV['TRUSTED_PROXIES'])) {
        Request::setTrustedProxies(array_map('trim', explode(',', env('TRUSTED_PROXIES'))));
    }

Hi Hillel! Thank you for your response! I added TRUSTED_PROXIES=‘192.168.1.196/16’ to the .env file and restarted the server and have not had any change. For reference, here’s what my .env file looks like.

APP_ENV=production
APP_DEBUG=false
APP_URL=https://billing.XXX.com
APP_CIPHER=rijndael-256