Self-Hosted Setup (Softaculous)

I recently installed InvoiceNinja on my server through the Softaculous installation method. I referred myself to the Installation Guide for safe measure, but I have a few questions mostly because I’m new to self-hosting altogether and I’m not sure what changes I need to make to my files.

First and foremost, I’m installing InvoiceNinja on a subdomain. In addition, that pesky /public part on the end of the URL is not something I want.

Now in the install guide, it mentions “To remove public/ from the URL map the webroot to the /public folder, alternatively you can uncomment RewriteRule ^(.*)$ public/$1 [L] in the .htaccess file.” Can someone explain this in a way that I can understand from a beginner’s standpoint? That /public url is really annoying.

Also in the Troubleshooting section of the install guide it says, " If you’re using a subdomain. ie, invoice.mycompany.com You will need to add RewriteBase / to public/.htaccess otherwise it may fail with Request exceeded the limit of 10 internal redirects due to probable configuration error. messages in the logs." I would also like further guidance on this so that I can make the necessary changes and not screw anything up.

If it makes any difference, my host is Bluehost.

Thanks in advance!

I don’t think you can set the webroot with Softaculous (you may want to email them to check), if that’s the case updating the .htaccess file is your only option to try. Note: you’ll need to reapply this change when updating the app.

If you aren’t seeing the error then you don’t need to make the change.