Fresh v5 Docker install -- "500 | Server Error" and "production.INFO: db fails"

Hello. This is my first time posting here, but I hope to provide some valuable insight to the community.

This post is going to attempt to serve both as an ask for help, and documentation for the steps I’ve taken to try and solve some issues.

I’ve been trying to get InvoiceNinja v5 to work in Docker for a while now. I made my own Dockerfile <shobuprime/invoiceninja:5> to fill in some of the holes the official one has for the latest build, such as missing “npm” and “node”. Other key differences include using php-fpm version 7.4.8 and the recently released Invoice Ninja 5.0.13

On the setup screen I’m able to generate a “Test PDF”, “Test Connection” to the database, and “Send a test email”. The trouble I have is, after filling out the user details and clicking “Submit”, I get a “500 | Server Error” page.

Initially, I noticed in “laravel.log”, the only errors I see are “production.INFO: db fails”

While writing this, I did see one more error pop up for the first time after hours of troubleshooting:
production.INFO: SQLSTATE[HY000] [2002] No such file or directory (SQL: select * from information_schema.tables where table_schema = ninja and table_name = migrations and table_type = ‘BASE TABLE’)

The mysql container I’m running is mysql:latest. I’ve tried 5 and 5.7 and still get the same results.

I’m using NGINX:1 as my web server, and it doesn’t give much helpful info in it’s error logs. I did receive a “405 Not Allowed NGINX error” after attempting to fill all appropriate information on the setup screen. It felt like a timeout, and the logs pointed to a timeout.

I notice the “500 | Server Error” would show when I did not fill in any email settings.

Now, while writing this, I did try a couple of other things:

In the URL, box, I was typing “https://url