Braintree vs Stripe and questions

Hello everyone!

I’m very new with Invoice Ninja and I was wondering which of these two merchant accounts / payment gateways were more robustly supported by Invoice Ninja.

Braintree and Stripe.

I would very much like to use Braintree because I’ve heard awful things about Stripe. But I read through these forums that Braintree’s hooks aren’t supported, so the status of invoices isn’t marked via Invoice Ninja. Is this still the case? If it’s true, will webhook support be coming? Does Stripe’s integration have webhook support?

Am I stuck using Paypal with the Braintree integration or can I use Braintree’s other methods of payments like card processing / Venmo / etc?

And of course, your opinion is also really important. Which of these two services have you used / would use over the other and why?

We support webhooks with Stripe but not Braintree, they’re needed by Stripe to support ACH.

You can use Braintree’s credit cards, not sure about Venmo though.

In general the Stripe integration in our app is more developed than Braintree.

Thank you for the quick response!

I was looking at the roadmap and didn’t see anything about Braintree. Would adding webhooks / further integration be something Invoice Ninja is working on? Or should I just go with Stripe?

We don’t have immediate plans to add webhooks for Braintree.

If it’s important to you Stripe is the better choice.

I’ve used Stripe for years… their API works absurdly well and they’re responsive to questions.

Take any ‘awful’ comments with a grain of salt. They haven’t grown at the rate they have by treating folks badly or having a shoddy product.

Thanks for your input @sharp!

FYI… we’ve started working on Braintree webhooks.