Best way of billing services by quantity?

I’m a translator and proof-reader and bill only some of my work by time. Most work is billed at an agreed rate per number of units, e.g. per thousand words, per norm-lines or per manuscript page, or else are paid at a pre-agreed fixed rate for the job. Mostly the rate is the same, but some clients have special rates.

Typically I collect these tasks as ‘work slips’ on an ongoing basis under a project until enough has come together and then bill them together in a single invoice. As I don’t always know what will come and the quantities, I can’t work with the traditional quote/estimate -> convert to invoice method. In my current invoicing setup (which the vendor is alas discontinuing in the form I use) I can output reports of the unbilled slips and see what has accrued ready for billing.

When looking around at alternative invoicing programs, a lot of them involving constructing the invoice out of saved products at that moment and don’t offer a way to collect together completed task up front for billing together, meaning I would have to note them all down somewhere else first. I thought I’d found the solution with InvoiceNinja, but …

What is the best way of handling billing services by quantity? “Tasks” seem to be only billable by time. “Products” have a fixed price. “Vendors” and “Expenses” are for other use cases (that do come up from time to time). Any tips?

1 Like

Workaround:

• Add a task (you do not have to add dates/times)
  • Invoice for it [this will force Ninja into services invoice mode]
  • Put in rate and quantity
  • Delete the task (if you want) -- keep in mind tasks can not be reused for other invoices anyway . . .

Hopefully Ninja will soon add a “services” category, just like there are products.