Severe text and layout corruption in generated PDFs

Hi,

I was in the process of building my invoice design when all of the sudden it started behaving weirdly when converted to PDF (with added white margins where there were none before). I could not see anything wrong with the CSS (I’m no expert, but the render looked fine before), so I tried creating a new test design using one of the presets. Surprise: default designs now exhibit some issues when converted to PDF, mostly overflow problems (the whole page overflowing and getting a part hidden at the top page border) but sometimes even severe text corruption. The HTML drafts work OK, by the way - only the generated PDFs are problematic.

Here is what the Hipster design looks like when converted to PDF:

Now here is a product table rendered with the Modern design:

I checked laravel.log, the browser console, but no errors are showing up.

I thought there might be an issue with my custom labels (special characters and whatnot), so I deleted them. It made no difference. I also tried deleting the default designs in the db and letting the seeder repopulate them, but it didn’t work either (the designs were all reloaded with the exact same code as before, so nothing seemed corrupted there).

A fully clean, manual install (with the same database and at the same subdomain) did not fix the issue either, but a new test install with a fresh db straight from Softaculous in a new subfolder did work to generate clean PDFs, so there might be something in my production database somewhere that makes the PDFs corrupted - I just can’t tell what.

I was using the hosted_ninja PDF generator on my main install, so I switched back to PhantomJSCloud for now and the issue seems even worse, with my logo not being added to the generated PDFs, some designs producing a white page and some others, like “Plain”, being completely unreadable: