[Self-Hosted] symlink "public/setup" not generating

Greetings!

This is my first time attempting to install Invoice Ninja as a self-hosted project. I’ve followed several tutorials attempting to reach the setup page. I’ve generated a MySQL database for it, edited the configuration files, ran Composer without errors, and have Apache pointing to the unzipped directory with configuration to follow symlinks. However, when navigating to the “public” directory in the web browser, it attempts to redirect to “public/setup” and gives me the following error: “The requested URL was not found on this server.” Looking at the file structure itself, there is no “public/setup”, symlink or otherwise. I’m not sure if that’s supposed to be generated or where, but there are no errors I found in the laravel-error log.

Current Versions:
PHP - 7.2
InvoiceNinja - 4.5.17
Apache - 2.4.29

We suggest mapping the webroot to the /public folder, it may help with the error you’re seeing.

Thank you for the fast reply Hillel!

It was able to resolve that error. However, the setup page, while it loads, does not seem to have functioning buttons nor any accompanying CSS to it. Rather, it looks very minimalistic - with only plain text, undecorated buttons, and simple text fields, but with none of the buttons actually functioning I can’t even submit the setup configuration as the filled out form. I did see some other users encounter similar issues, where they failed to specify Directory information within the VirtualHost (Apache Configuration). However, that is specified on my end and I’m not really sure how to proceed.

Thank you again for helping this newbie!