Selecting contacts automatically on recurring invoices

Greetings,

I am not a developer but I know enough to be dangerous.

Basically we have staff members who modify the email addresses for a client. Our staff occasionally forgets to open every recurring invoice, check all the boxes for all the email addresses and save the changes. This is important because sometimes invoices do not get paid and clients get mad. The customer’s complaint usually starts with, “I gave you guys the new email address(es)… why didn’t yous end so and so a copy so he could pay it?”.

I have a simple cron job:
*/15 * * * * /usr/bin/mysql -e ‘update ninja.contacts set send_invoice=1’

If I open the recurring invoice it still shows the missing email addresses are unchecked and the invoices are not sent.

Before I start breaking stuff… Where can I make the appropriate changes so recurring invoices are always sent to all contacts?

I appreciate any thoughts / help anyone could provide.

The previous message above should read:

“I gave you guys the new email address(es)… why didn’t you send him/her a copy so s/he could pay it?”.

I apologize for the poor proofreading.

I made it a little further in my quest.

I assumed when you load the invoice, it pulls a list of contacts and if ninja.contacts.send_invoice=1 then it would check the box indicating the client would receive a copy of the invoice. I also wrongly assumed the ninja:send-invoices script would generate the appropriate ninja.invitations table entries.

I now understand that checking the box on the invoice and clicking SAVE is what causes the invitations table entry. I still cannot figure out what the send_invoice column is even used for.

I am still back at square one. I really do not want to go through every invoice manually, check the boxes and save the invoice. I also do not want too mess with the invitations table directly because I suspect that could cause problems later.