Link expenses to existing payments instead of creating another invoice

Hello

I really love this software! I am still learning it and I seem to have run into an issue.
I can only invoice an expense to a customer, but I can’t link the expense to an existing invoice.

My workflow is this:

1. Create and send quote, quote is marked as “sent”
  2. After accepted, Convert quote to invoice then send invoice and invoice is marked as “sent”
  3. Customer pays > create manual deposit transaction > Link payment to invoice
    **The transaction now shows as matched, and the invoice shows as paid
  4. Then I create a manual expense, linking it to the vendor and the customer
    **(this will obviously be for a lower amount than the one invoiced to make profit, for example R500 as expense and R750 as invoice, profit is R250), the options “should be invoiced to customer” and “marked as paid to vendor” isn’t selected, and the expense now shows as “Logged”
  5. Create manual withdraw transaction for the cost of the product (e.g. R500) > link to expense created in step 4.
  6. Open the expense created in step 4 and check “mark as paid to vendor”
    ** The expense now says “paid” and I get an option to invoice expense. But after clicking “invoice expense”, it will open a window to create a new invoice with the total amount of the expense. There is no button that says link to invoice from step 2 that was created previously.

Doing that will result in a double invoice to the customer when they have already paid for the item.

Is there something I am missing or doing wrong?

Again, I am new but I noticed @david and @hillel knows whats cracking here :slight_smile:

I hope one of you guys will be able to help me!

Hi,

I think the challenge is the app expects the expense to be entered first and added to the invoice before the invoice is sent to your client.

Note: you can add an expense to an invoice by clicking the + icon in the lower right corner of the edit invoice screen.

Hi,